
Description
Nurai New Cairo: Prices, Location, Photos, and Project Details
Nurai New Cairo is a mixed-use development by Mercon Developments in the Golden Square area of the Fifth Settlement, split evenly between a residential community of roughly 350 apartments across 16 low-rise buildings and a separate commercial, administrative and medical district branded Nurai Walk. It launched in May 2024 with a stated investment of EGP 10 billion and is being executed in four phases.
Apartment prices in the supplied 2026 price list start at approximately EGP 4,363,000 for a 39 square metre studio and run to approximately EGP 15,269,000 for a 223 square metre duplex. Payment starts from a 5% down payment with the balance over eight years, with alternative plans attached to the U Nurai phase.
Several of those figures conflict between the developer’s own website, the supplied project material and third-party listings. This article identifies every conflict rather than selecting a convenient version. The pricing section also explains why portals quote anywhere from EGP 4.1 million to EGP 6.8 million for a one-bedroom apartment in the same project, because the reason is useful and it affects what a buyer should pay.
What Is Nurai New Cairo Compound?
Nurai New Cairo, known in Arabic as كمبوند نوراي التجمع الخامس, is a gated residential and commercial development by Mercon Developments in the Fifth Settlement, New Cairo.
Stated officially by the developer on its own project page:
- The project spans 16 acres, divided as 8 acres residential and 8 acres commercial
- The location is the Golden Square of the Fifth Settlement
- Units start from 80 square metres
- The design theme is drawn from moonlight, which is the origin of the project name
- Amenities include jogging and cycling lanes, two pools, relaxing pools, water features, garden pockets, an open-air gym and a barbecue area
- Added by the supplied project material:
- Total area of 16 feddans, equivalent to approximately 67,200 square metres
- An even split of 8 feddans residential and 8 feddans mixed-use, approximately 33,600 square metres each
- Approximately 350 residential units across 16 buildings
- Building heights of ground floor plus three repeated floors plus penthouse
- Approximately 20% building footprint against 80% open space, landscaping and internal roads within the residential zone
- Four execution phases
- A separate commercial component, Nurai Walk, containing retail, restaurants, cafés, medical clinics and administrative offices
One measurement note. The developer’s English page says 16 acres; the supplied Arabic material says 16 feddans and converts it to 67,200 square metres, which is correct at 4,200 square metres per feddan. Sixteen acres is about 64,750 square metres, some 2,450 less. Egyptian developer materials written in English routinely use “acres” where “feddans” is meant, and the Arabic figure carries its own consistent conversion, which makes feddans the likelier intended unit. The difference does not change the character of the project, but a buyer comparing land areas across projects should know which unit each figure uses.
Who Is the Developer of Nurai New Cairo?
Nurai is developed by Mercon Developments, an Egyptian real estate developer.
Confirmed on the company’s own website:
- Founded in 2019, building on more than 15 years of prior construction and development experience
- More than 840 units delivered
- Participation in major national projects with China State Construction, including the Iconic Tower and the Governmental District in the New Administrative Capital, Dubai Port in Suez, and infrastructure works including the Monorail and the Grand Gates
- Head office at M3, North 90 Street, Fifth Settlement
The supplied material adds a portfolio of more than 70 residential and commercial projects in Cairo and earlier construction work in the Narges, Lotus and Nasr City districts. Mercon’s site displays these totals as live counters, so they should be read as current developer claims rather than audited figures.
Mercon’s published portfolio covers Nurai, Riverton New Cairo, VX Golden Square, VX N90, Pavo Tower in the New Administrative Capital, Marsa North Coast, Dayz North Coast and a line branded Memar Mekkah.
The useful fact here is the sequence, not the founding date. The brand was established in 2019, which makes it young as a developer, but the construction capability behind it is older and the national-project record provides a kind of verification most new developer brands cannot offer. Work on the Iconic Tower and the Governmental District was performed alongside China State Construction, a counterparty that does not subcontract to firms without demonstrated technical capacity.
That evidences build capability, which is a different question from the financial strength to fund a four-phase development through to handover. The second is not publicly documented, as is normal for a privately held Egyptian developer, which is why the construction-status section below recommends specific contractual protections rather than treating the track record as sufficient comfort.
Who Owns Mercon Developments?
This question has a partial answer, and the useful version separates what is confirmed from what is not.
What is reported: Ahmed Embaby is identified as Chairman of the Board of Mercon Developments. He was quoted in Egyptian business press coverage of the Nurai launch in May 2024 describing the four-phase execution plan, and Mercon’s own About page carries a “Word from our Chairman” section that directory profiles cite in naming him. The name appears in several spellings across sources, including Embaby and Imbaby, with a variant also appearing on the company’s own site.
What is not publicly confirmed: the shareholding structure of Mercon Developments. No authoritative public source establishes who owns the company, the ownership percentages, or whether the chairman holds an equity stake at all.
Those are different roles and merging them would be inaccurate. A chairman leads the board. A founder established the company. A chief executive runs operations. A shareholder owns equity. One person can hold several, but holding one does not establish the others.
So the accurate answer is that the chairman is reported as Ahmed Embaby, and ownership of Mercon Developments is not publicly disclosed. Mercon is a privately held Egyptian company with no obligation to publish a shareholder register, which is unremarkable. Buyers who need corporate standing verified for due diligence should request current commercial registration and tax card documents directly from the company, which is the only reliable route.
Nurai New Cairo Location and Nearby Landmarks
The developer states the location officially as the Golden Square of the Fifth Settlement and links to a Golden Square map pin on its project page. The supplied material places the project slightly differently, in the Lotus area close to Golden Square, near Ninetieth Street and the main road network. Press coverage of the launch described the site as the Lotus area at Golden Square.
These descriptions are compatible but not identical. Lotus and Golden Square adjoin, and the boundary is described inconsistently across the market, with Golden Square functioning partly as a marketing designation for the premium pocket around the Ninetieth Street corridor rather than a strict administrative district. The accurate statement is that Nurai sits in the Lotus and Golden Square area of the Fifth Settlement, close to Ninetieth Street.
Landmarks and connections cited in official and supplied materials:
- The Ninetieth Street corridor, the main commercial and services spine of the Fifth Settlement
- The Golden Square district, the established premium residential pocket of New Cairo
- Schools and educational facilities in the surrounding Lotus and Golden Square catchment
- Business and office clusters within the Fifth Settlement
- Entertainment and retail venues in the surrounding district
No drive times are stated here. Neither the developer’s official page nor the supplied material publishes measured travel times to named destinations, and inferring them from portal copy would not be reliable. Buyers who need them should check the route at the times of day they would actually travel.
The location logic does not need embellishment. Lotus and Golden Square are mature, built-out parts of New Cairo with services, schools and retail that already exist rather than planned ones, which removes the main risk of buying in a new district. It also means land is scarce and expensive, which is why this is 16 feddans of apartments rather than a 200-feddan villa plan, and why it is priced where it is.
Nurai New Cairo Master Plan and Project Design
The master plan divides the site evenly between the residential community and Nurai Walk, keeping them physically separate so commercial traffic does not pass through the residential area.
Stated master plan elements:
- Building footprint of approximately 20% within the residential zone, with approximately 80% given to open space, landscaping and internal roads
- Sixteen low-rise residential buildings at ground floor plus three repeated floors plus penthouse
- Approximately 350 residential units
- Buildings arranged around gardens and water features to distribute views
- Artificial lakes and water elements between residential blocks
- Dedicated pedestrian walkways with separate jogging and cycling routes
- Underground parking to reduce vehicle movement in the residential zone
- Four execution phases
- Design supervision credited in the supplied material to engineering consultant Omar Aqeel, with project management in partnership with Inversion
Inversion appears as a named partner on the developer’s official Nurai page alongside Frontline and Azure. The Omar Aqeel attribution comes from the supplied material and is not stated officially.
The master plan figures reconcile, which is worth checking
Published master plan numbers often fail basic arithmetic. These do not, and the check is quick.
The residential zone is approximately 33,600 square metres. A 20% footprint gives roughly 6,720 square metres of building base across 16 buildings, about 420 square metres per building. At five sellable levels, ground plus three plus penthouse, that produces roughly 33,600 square metres of gross floor area. Across approximately 350 units the average is about 96 square metres.
That average sits exactly where it should given a mix running from 39 square metre studios to 195 square metre three-bedroom apartments and 223 square metre duplexes, and the floor-area ratio lands at approximately 1.0, a normal density for a low-rise scheme. The stated footprint percentage, building count, floor count, unit count and size ranges all reconcile. That does not guarantee the plan gets built as described, but it indicates the figures come from a real design rather than marketing copy, and it is a check worth running on any project before accepting its density claims.
One qualification: the 80% open-space figure applies to the residential 8 feddans, not the full 16. Across the whole site, half of it commercial, the effective share is lower. Residents experience the residential-zone figure, so it is the relevant one for daily life, but it is not a project-wide statistic.
Unit Types and Available Areas
Unit types and areas in the supplied material:
- Studios from 39 square metres
- One-bedroom apartments from 74 to 87 square metres
- Two-bedroom apartments from 113 to 126 square metres
- Three-bedroom apartments from 157 to 195 square metres
- Ground-floor apartments with private gardens from 87 to 162 square metres, depending on bedroom count
- Duplexes up to 223 square metres with three bedrooms
- Penthouses in varying layouts and areas by phase
A material conflict on minimum unit size
The developer’s official page states units start from 80 square metres. The supplied material states studios start from 39 square metres. Third-party listings variously quote one-bedroom units from 74 and from 85 square metres.
These cannot all describe the same current inventory, and the gap between 39 and 80 square metres is not a rounding difference. It is the difference between a studio product and a one-bedroom product, and it changes who the project is sold to.
The most plausible explanation is timing. The official page was published in mid-2025 and describes the project generally, while the compact studio inventory appears in the supplied material in connection with the U Nurai phase, which carries its own pricing and payment terms. A phase launched after the official page was written would explain both the smaller minimum area and the different terms. That is an inference, not a confirmed fact. Anyone specifically seeking a studio should confirm that studio inventory exists in a currently released phase, because the developer’s own website does not support the 39 square metre figure.
The mix is built for breadth rather than one buyer type: studios and compact one-bedrooms for single occupiers and buy-to-let investors, two and three-bedroom apartments for families, ground-floor units with private gardens offering outdoor space without villa pricing, and duplexes and penthouses capping the range. Breadth widens the resale and rental pool, which is the argument the supplied material makes. It also means competing at exit with neighbours selling similar stock inside the same 350-unit community. The scarce products are the ground-floor garden units, fixed at one floor per building, and the penthouses, and that is where resale pricing power is most likely to sit.
Nurai New Cairo Facilities and Amenities
Confirmed on the developer’s official project page:
- Two swimming pools
- Separate relaxing pools
- Water features
- Jogging lane
- Cycling lane
- Garden pockets, meaning distributed pocket gardens between buildings rather than one central park
- Open-air gym
- Barbecue area
Added by the supplied material:
- A clubhouse for social gatherings and resident activities
- Equipped indoor gym and health club facilities
- Artificial lakes and water elements providing views to units
- A children’s play area
- Twenty-four-hour security with controlled gates and surveillance cameras
- Resident parking in addition to the underground garages
Commercial and service facilities in Nurai Walk, per the supplied material: retail units, restaurants and cafés, medical clinics and administrative offices.
The amenity list is unusually well corroborated. Every item in the first list appears on the developer’s own website in its own words, which is not the norm in a market where amenity lists are frequently assembled by brokers and attributed to developers afterward. The second list should be treated as developer-supplied pending confirmation officially.
Two points on substance. Distributing green space between buildings rather than concentrating it centrally is the right call on a site this size, because a single park on 8 feddans would leave most buildings without a view of it. And separating Nurai Walk from the residential zone is the most commercially significant decision in the project, since mixed-use schemes that place retail inside the residential core reliably generate parking, noise and traffic complaints after handover. Buyers should still confirm the gate and road arrangement between the two zones on the current site plan, because the value of that separation depends on how the circulation is actually built.
Nurai New Cairo Prices and Latest Offers
Prices below are a dated snapshot, not a quotation. Egyptian off-plan pricing changes frequently and every figure should be reconfirmed before any commitment.
From the supplied 2026 price list:
- Studios at 39 square metres from approximately EGP 4,363,000
- One-bedroom apartments at 87 square metres from approximately EGP 5,486,000
- Two-bedroom apartments at 113 square metres from approximately EGP 7,200,000
- Three-bedroom apartments at 157 square metres from approximately EGP 9,256,000
- Duplexes at 223 to 224 square metres from approximately EGP 15,269,000
Converted to a rate per square metre:
- Studio: approximately EGP 111,900 per square metre
- One-bedroom: approximately EGP 63,100 per square metre
- Two-bedroom: approximately EGP 63,700 per square metre
- Three-bedroom: approximately EGP 59,000 per square metre
- Duplex: approximately EGP 68,500 per square metre
The studio carries a premium of approximately 90% per square metre over the three-bedroom apartment. That is the most important number in this section.
Small-unit premiums are normal, because fixed costs per unit do not scale down with area and compact units attract a deeper buyer pool. A 90% premium is at the steep end. An investor buying a studio for rental yield is paying nearly double the per-metre rate of a family apartment in the same buildings, so the rent achieved has to clear that premium before the studio outperforms. Studio rents in the Fifth Settlement do command a premium per metre, so the case is not automatically weak, but it needs calculating against current local rents rather than assumed. Buyers optimising for area per pound should look at the three-bedroom units, the cheapest per metre in the range.
The duplex sits about 16% above the three-bedroom per metre, the expected pattern: duplexes carry circulation area and a scarcity premium, so the buyer is paying for the two-level layout rather than additional usable floor space.
Why portal prices for Nurai vary so widely
Third-party listings quote one-bedroom starting prices from roughly EGP 4.1 million to EGP 6.8 million, a range wide enough to look like unreliable data. Most of it has a specific explanation.
One listing checked for this article publishes two parallel plans for the same unit types, priced by delivery timeline:
- One-bedroom: approximately EGP 6,790,000 on a one-year delivery plan against approximately EGP 5,050,000 on a two-year plan, a premium of about 34.5%
- Two-bedroom: approximately EGP 7,220,000 against approximately EGP 6,110,000, about 18.2%
- Three-bedroom: approximately EGP 9,110,000 against approximately EGP 8,530,000, about 6.8%
The difference is the cost of faster handover, and the premium falls sharply as units get larger: roughly a third extra on a one-bedroom, under a fifth on a two-bedroom, under 7% on a three-bedroom.
That gradient is the most actionable finding in the pricing data. A three-bedroom buyer can take delivery a year earlier for a single-digit increase, a reasonable price for removing twelve months of construction risk and twelve months of rent or alternative housing cost. A one-bedroom buyer pays 34.5% for the same twelve months. Anyone comparing these plans should price those twelve months against their own housing cost rather than choosing on the headline figure, and anyone buying a larger unit should specifically ask whether the faster plan is available to them.
Figures marked as portal data are third-party listings, not developer quotations, and listing dates vary. The developer’s official page publishes no prices and directs enquiries to its sales team.
To obtain current official pricing, request a written price list specifying unit code, floor, view, exact built-up area, phase, delivery date and the payment plan each price is attached to. A price without those attached is not comparable to any other price. For current availability and the latest official list, call 01003366453.
Nurai New Cairo Payment Plan
The developer’s official page states plans starting from a 10% down payment with instalments over seven years.
The supplied material lists three:
- Plan one: 5% down with the balance in equal instalments over eight years
- Plan two, U Nurai phase: 10% down over seven years, delivery within one year
- Plan three, U Nurai phase: 5% on contract plus a further 5% after three months, balance over eight years, delivery within two years
- Reservation deposit in the U Nurai phase: EGP 50,000
Plan two matches the official page, which suggests the official listing reflects one current plan rather than the full set.
Worked on a one-bedroom at approximately EGP 5,486,000:
- Plan one: approximately EGP 274,300 on contract, then approximately EGP 54,300 per month across 96 months
- Plan two: approximately EGP 548,600 on contract, then approximately EGP 58,800 per month across 84 months
- Plan three: approximately EGP 274,300 on contract and the same again at month three, reaching EGP 548,600 by month three, then approximately EGP 54,300 per month across 96 months
Plan three is the one to notice. It reaches the same 10% paid-in position as plan two by month three, but keeps the eight-year term, so the monthly payment is roughly EGP 4,500 lower while the cash paid by month three is identical. The trade is delivery: plan two hands over within one year, plan three within two.
So the choice between plans two and three is not really about cash flow. It is the same twelve months of delivery timing that drives the price difference above, expressed through the payment structure instead. A buyer who does not need the unit within a year gets a lower monthly payment for accepting the later date.
Before signing any of these, confirm in writing whether the quoted price is fixed or adjustable, whether maintenance and clubhouse fees are included or billed separately and how they are calculated, the contractual delivery date as distinct from the marketing one, the penalty if the developer delays, the finishing specification, and the policy and fee for reselling or transferring the contract before handover. The last matters particularly on an eight-year plan, where instalments continue well past delivery.
Nurai New Cairo Photos and Project Gallery
Searches for Nurai New Cairo photos, including the common misspelling Norai new cairo photos, are looking for images of the finished product. An accurate answer starts with what the available images actually are.
Mercon publishes a set of project images on its official Nurai page, uploaded in mid-2025. These are architectural visualisations, meaning computer-generated renders of the intended design. They are not photographs of completed construction, and no official photography of completed Nurai buildings was located for this article.
The distinction is not pedantry. Renders show design intent under ideal conditions: landscaping at maturity, chosen light, no construction context. They are the right basis for understanding a design and the wrong basis for judging what gets handed over. One official image file also carries a filename indicating generative fill editing, meaning parts of it were machine-extended rather than drawn from the design, so it should not be read as a literal representation of the built scheme.
A gallery for a page targeting these searches should be labelled accordingly:
- Official render, residential buildings and landscaping, Mercon Developments, 2025. Alt text: “Nurai New Cairo official render showing low-rise residential buildings and landscaped gardens”
- Official render, water features between residential blocks. Alt text: “Official render of water features and garden pockets between Nurai New Cairo residential buildings”
- Official render, building elevation and balconies. Alt text: “Nurai New Cairo render showing building elevation with open balconies”
- Official render, pool and amenity area. Alt text: “Render of swimming pool and amenity area at Nurai New Cairo by Mercon Developments”
- Master plan image, residential and Nurai Walk zones. Alt text: “Nurai New Cairo master plan showing the residential zone and the Nurai Walk commercial district”
- Construction progress photography, when the developer publishes dated site photographs. Alt text: “Nurai New Cairo construction progress, [month and year]”
Every render should carry a visible caption identifying it as a render rather than a photograph, with source and year, and any construction photograph should carry the month and year taken. Buyers who want to see the current state of the site should request dated construction photographs or visit, since a site visit to Lotus is straightforward.
Construction Status and Expected Delivery
Verified timeline facts: the project launched publicly in May 2024 with a stated investment of EGP 10 billion and a four-phase execution plan. A later developer profile cites approximately EGP 14.8 billion, indicating the figure has been revised upward since launch.
On delivery the sources disagree, and the disagreement is structural rather than careless:
- The supplied material attaches delivery within one year to plan two and within two years to plan three, both in the U Nurai phase
- Third-party listings commonly state 2028
- The developer’s official page states no delivery date
These reconcile. A four-phase project delivers in stages, so an early phase handing over within one to two years while later phases complete around 2028 is a normal schedule rather than a contradiction. Practically, it means no project-level delivery date is meaningful. The only date that matters is the contractual one for the specific unit in the specific phase being purchased.
No independently verified construction completion percentage was located, and the developer publishes no dated progress reporting. The one-year delivery plan implies an advanced state of construction in that phase, since a building cannot be handed over in twelve months from a standing start, but that is an inference from the payment terms rather than confirmed site evidence.
Before committing, require in writing the phase containing the unit, its contractual handover date, the current completion percentage for that phase, the delay penalty and how it is calculated, and the finishing specification at handover. Then verify the construction claim independently with dated photographs or a site visit. On a project where the earliest delivery is stated at twelve months, that verification is quick and it is the highest-value due diligence available.
Conclusion
Nurai New Cairo is a straightforward proposition executed on a constrained site. Sixteen feddans in Lotus and Golden Square, split evenly between roughly 350 apartments in 16 low-rise buildings and a separate Nurai Walk commercial district, with a 20% residential footprint and a master plan whose published figures reconcile arithmetically. The amenity list is confirmed almost item for item on the developer’s own website, which is uncommon. The developer is young as a brand but carries a verifiable construction record on national projects, and the location is a built-out part of New Cairo with services that already exist rather than planned ones.
The open questions are specific. The developer’s own page and the supplied material disagree on minimum unit size, which is the difference between a studio product and a one-bedroom product. Delivery is staged across four phases, so only the contractual date for a specific unit means anything. Ownership of the developer is not publicly disclosed, and the chairman’s role does not establish it. Available images are renders, not photographs of completed work. The land figure appears as both acres and feddans.
The most useful commercial finding is in the pricing. The premium for faster delivery falls from roughly 34.5% on a one-bedroom to under 7% on a three-bedroom, so early handover is cheap for larger-unit buyers and expensive for compact-unit buyers. And the studio carries a per-metre premium of roughly 90% over the three-bedroom, which any investor buying for yield should calculate against actual local rents before proceeding.
None of these are reasons to dismiss the project. All of them are reasons to get a written price list with unit code, area, floor, phase, delivery date and payment plan attached, plus dated construction evidence, before signing anything.
For current availability, the latest official price list and the delivery schedule by phase, call 01003366453.
FAQs
Mercon Developments states the location officially as the Golden Square of the Fifth Settlement, New Cairo, with a Golden Square map pin on its project page. The supplied material and launch press place the site more specifically in the Lotus area adjacent to Golden Square, near the Ninetieth Street corridor. Both are compatible, since Lotus and Golden Square adjoin and the boundary is described inconsistently across the market. No measured drive times are published by the developer, so buyers should check routes themselves.
The developer is Mercon Developments, founded in 2019 on more than 15 years of prior construction experience, with more than 840 units delivered and participation in national projects including the Iconic Tower and the Governmental District alongside China State Construction. Ahmed Embaby is reported as Chairman of the Board, with spelling varying across sources. The company’s shareholding structure is not publicly disclosed, so no individual can accurately be identified as the owner of Mercon Developments from publicly available information.
The official page states plans from 10% down over seven years. The supplied material lists three: 5% down with the balance over eight years; 10% down over seven years with delivery within one year in the U Nurai phase; and 5% on contract plus 5% after three months with the balance over eight years and delivery within two years, also in U Nurai. The U Nurai reservation deposit is stated at EGP 50,000. The third plan reaches the same 10% paid-in position as the second by month three while keeping the longer term and a lower monthly instalment, the difference being a later delivery date.
Facilities and Services
- Club
- Supermarket
- ATM
- International Spa
- GREEN AREAS, ISLANDS
- Air Conditioning
- Electronic Security Gates
- Internet
- gym
- clinic
- Area for Mix Retail
- Pharmacy
- KIDS AREA
Recommended projects
Compound Location
About the developer
Mercon Developments – A Rising Real Estate Force in New Cairo & BeyondIn a market full of competing developers, only a few companies manage to balance experience, execution, and future vision. Mercon Developments is one of those names that has quickly built a strong reputation in Egypt’s real estate sector.Since its official launch, Mercon Developments has positioned itself... Read more